Czech language books?

Discussion in 'General Language' started by Calvario, Sep 16, 2006.

1. Calvario

Calvario Well-Known Member

Brand-newbie here: Hello everyone.

Anyone found a czech language book that they found especially helpful to begin with? A specific tiltle would be great. Kind of a broad question, however in my Spanish studies I found a book that got me mainstreamed quickly, with a very good grasp of the language.

Thank you for input
    Calvario[/img]

2. gementricxs

gementricxs Well-Known Member

3. laylah

laylah Well-Known Member

I like working with the "New Czech Step by Step, but it is designed for working with a tutor, and if you have no Czech at all you might find it difficult as the instructions are all given in Czech, and grammar points are not fully explained in the text. I do recommend it though, once you have the basics - or a Czech speaker on hand to explain what you are supposed to do!

The book I worked from (am still working from) to get the basics and which explains things well is "Colloquial Czech" by James Naughton.

Hope this helps. Good luck. Laylah.

4. Calvario

Calvario Well-Known Member

Thank you for your input, much appreciated. I'll try Barnes & Noble book store. When I began studying Spanish years ago i remember looking at books on Czech also.

Thank you,
    Calvario

5. dzurisova

dzurisova Well-Known Member

Amazon has good prices. I like Step by Step as well. It's a good one. They have tapes or CD's as well.

401 Czech verbs is a good one to get as well.

6. laylah

laylah Well-Known Member

Is 401 Czech verbs still available in the US then? it's proving very difficult to track a copy down here in the UK, and the proposed new print run hasn't materialised yet!

7. Kikko

Kikko Well-Known Member

Ive got 401 cz verbs, but I had to buy it directly in Praha. Its pretty hard to find in other countries.