EN->CZ: A couple of lyrics lines

Discussion in 'Vocabulary & Translation Help' started by wizaard, Jan 26, 2009.

1. wizaard

wizaard Member

Hi to everybody!

In December I've (literally) discovered Johnny Cash's music and now I can't live without it. My current goal is to translate some of his songs (not professionally) but due to the fact I'm not that experienced in English, I need a little help with a couple of sentences/phrases. I would be really pleased if anyone helped.

Here they are...
    "I find myself alone when each day is through" - I feel alone at the and of day?
    "I'm a fool for you" - I need to know whether the meaning is only "I'm in love with you" or the preposition "for" makes it more like "I do crazy things for you"
    "(I wear it for the sick and lonely old,) For the reckless ones whose bad trip left them cold" - For the ones, who didn't take care of the old ones? Or am I totally wrong? :)
    "I saw the little judge commence to look about" - I have no idea what this may mean. Could it be something like "I saw the (damned) judge to take care about things"?
    "Broken thoughts" - I don't know exactly what this expression means.

I have one more but I think it would be necessary to listen to the whole song and that's probably something I can't ask.

Anyway - many thanks to anyone who replies!

2. scrimshaw

scrimshaw Well-Known Member

Very interesting, Wizard.
    Yes, Johnny Cash was the best. A real icon in american country music.

You have some interesting lines there.
    "I find myself alone when each day is through" - I feel alone at the and of day? or simple..I am alone at the end of each day.

"I'm a fool for you" - I need to know whether the meaning is only "I'm in love with you" or the preposition "for" makes it more like "I do crazy things for you"
    A little bit open to individual interpretation....
    could be...I do foolish things for you
    Foolishly, I have fallen in love for you