English vs. Czech

Discussion in 'General Language' started by devo, Mar 6, 2005.

1. devo

devo Member

Being an english speaking Canadian, I am very curious about other world languages, especially Czech.
    I was curious about comparing the sophistication of the languages. Is one language more sophisticated? Can people express themselves better in English than in Czech, or vice versa? Does either language have better vocabulary and diction? To those who speak fluent Czech and English, what language do you prefer to speak and why? What are the main differences, aside from the obvious?
    I am not ignorant about the complexities and differences of languages, I am just very curious.
    Please respond!

2. evian

evian Well-Known Member

Hey man,
    Sorry I can't help with most of the questions you posted, I am only beginning to learn Czech language. However, I can tell you that I have read in many places that Czech is one of the most difficult langauges (that use the latin alphabet) to learn for an English speaking person. You virtually have to abandon English learning vocabulary and sentence structure in order to learn it.
    I am aware that English has a more broad vocabulary with far more descriptive (adjectival) words.
    Hope this helps....
    Jason.

3. uuspoiss

uuspoiss Well-Known Member

Somehow I dare to doubt this... One if the things that is amazing for me about Czech is the richness of vocabulary, with all the fine nuances that will probably take years for a foreign speaker to start understanding and using properly. Someone who is fluent in both languages should comment on this, it would be interesting to know.

4. Silatsiaq

Silatsiaq Member

On that point I definitely agree with uuspoiss… I think Czech has a richer vocabulary than English… For example in Czech you have all the “gradations” of nouns and adjectives… (not only malý / menší / nejmenší (small / smaller / smallest) but also maličký, malinký etc …)