Few clarification questions

Discussion in 'General Language' started by Tmassey27, Jan 12, 2008.

1. Tmassey27

Tmassey27 Member

I am trying to clear up my Czech Sentence context issues. how would the following be translated:

Because of your (e.g. You will get the job because of your talent)

(Protoze tvoje?)(e.g. Budes mit tohle prace protoze tvoje nadani)

I am curious why you want to know, why you are interested....

(Jsem zvedvy, proc rad bych vedet? nebo "chtel bych")

I've been teaching myself Czech for about 4 months and I have a lot of small "clear-up" questions to smooth my Czech up a bit.....

Thank you!

2. Alexx

Alexx Well-Known Member

3. Tmassey27

Tmassey27 Member

Another quick question for whomever

Studuju vs. Studuji, Is the difference in that one is colloquial and the other is not?

4. Alexx

Alexx Well-Known Member

Exactly. The first one is colloquial and the other is not.

I am not expert, but I guess when the werb ends -ovat (studovat, pracovat, sledovat, rozdělovat, rozměňovat, přidělovat,...), you can create 1st person sg. like this

Formal - Colloquial

Studuji - Studuju
    Pracuji - Pracuju
    Sleduji - Sleduju
    Rozděluji - ju
    Rozměňuji - ju
    Přiděluji - ju

3rd person pl. is similar:

Studují - Studujou
    Pracují - Pracujou

5. Polednikova

Polednikova Well-Known Member

I've been thinking about how colloquial is colloquial. You generally hear dekuju rather than dekuji - which is a shame because dekuji was one of the few Czech words I knew as a child and hence I find it very difficult to remember to say dekuju.

But does colloquial mean that it's only used in spoken Czech and when you write, you would always put dekuji or studuji? Colloquial/spoken Czech for a small beer is malý pivo instead of malé pivo but I think I'm right in saying that you wouldn't write malý pivo.

6. Alexx

Alexx Well-Known Member

ICQ, chat, forum - děkuju
    Formal letter - děkuji