Hello from scotland

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by ollie1, Jan 20, 2008.

1. ollie1

ollie1 Active Member

I am new to My Czech Republic and i have just recently returned from Prague and can,t wait to go back. Completely fell in love with this beautiful city and warm caring people, went to all the tourist places including the jewish quarter ( very thought provoking), I am now trying to learn the language before i return in the summer and i wish i,d known about this web site before i went as its so informative and helpful.

thanks everyone

2. Alexx

Alexx Well-Known Member

Welcome, enjoy the website, and let us know about your progress learning czech :)

3. GlennInFlorida

GlennInFlorida Well-Known Member

Welcome!

Being from Scotland, you will have an advantage over some of us when learning Czech. Your "r" and "ch" should already be pretty close to Czech - a lot of language guides say to pronounce them like "a Scot or Spanish r" and "like the ch in the word loch" :wink:

Enjoy.

4. ollie1

ollie1 Active Member

Thank you for your welcome,

I,m going to need all the help i can get on getting my head round the language and actually remembering everything. So far i have been unable to find a tutor in edinburgh which would have been perfect.
    A couple of years ago i was lucky enough to spend some time in Nassau and Paradise Island, it,s the nearest iv,e ever been to sunny florida and as beautiful as these place are, nothing compares to the czech republic.

5. GlennInFlorida

GlennInFlorida Well-Known Member

I agree. I was born and raised in Florida - it is my home and I do love it but, the Czech Republic has stolen my heart.

6. eso

eso Well-Known Member

Hi, welcome.

I learnt recenly how Scottish English accent sounds and I really like it :)

7. ollie1

ollie1 Active Member