look out brno, here I come...

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by tradke, Aug 31, 2004.

1. tradke

tradke New Member

Hello, all. Glad to have found this site. I am headed to Brno in one week to study for the fall semester. I am a US grad student, studying (at least for now) Central Europe.

It sounds like it will be fun but also maybe hard to really make it feel like home. I will do my best to learn some Czech but I will will have to rely on any English speakers that I can find. I hope this does not mean that I will only meet expats.

I would love to hear from locals and expats about themsleves, about Brno about being a student, about Czech life and politics, or any damn thing else...

Cheers.
    Tom

2. Halef

Halef Well-Known Member

What school are you going to? I'm at VUT, maybe I'll meet you :)

3. tradke

tradke New Member

Hi, Halef.

I will be at Masaryk. What is VUT, a technical school?

So, you are in Brno? What can you tell me?

I am trying to focus on school but, really, my mind is on tasting the local beers and wines, hearing live music, and talking life/politics with locals. Will this be a good town for me, do you think? Or should I stay in the library...? : )

tom

4. Halef

Halef Well-Known Member

Yes, Brno university of technology (nice name, isn't it :) ). I also spent some time on Masaryk, but it just did not work :)

Well, even in the library you can taste wine, beer or discuss with locals. At least the library I visit :)
    I think you will be fine in Brno. You can get as much live music as you want, there are music clubs and no week without a concert taking place somewhere. In my first year at VUT I lived right under a student music club. During the jazz festival, I resigned on sleeping and rather bought the tickets :)
    The best place for discussions is, of course, a pub. No problem to find one, Brno is, afaik, the city with most pubs per regular house in CZ :)