More verbs! + forming the negative

Discussion in 'Grammar & Pronunciation' started by miffy, Oct 27, 2006.

1. miffy

miffy Member

Could someone please tell me if I have written these verbs out correctly? Followed the pattern 'I know, you know, he/she knows' etc.

To form the negative ('I don't know, you don't know, he/she doesn't know') you always simply add the prefix ne- ?

Are there any established rules for knowing when a word changes when it is negative, for example neni (the negative of on/ona je 'he/she is', as opposed to 'neje')?

Finally, are there any rules for knowing when a verb meaning 'they [do something]' will mirror the one meaning 'he/she [does something] or have a different form? For example (On, ona) uči, (Oni) uči (he/she teaches, they teach), compared with (On, ona) čte, (Oni) čtou.

I hope my post makes sense, please forgive my questions as I'm just a beginner. I really hope one day I can answer questions instead of always just asking :roll:

2. Zeisig

Zeisig Well-Known Member

uměti: umím, umíš, umí, umíme, umíte, umějí
    rozuměti: rozumím, ...
    vařiti: vařím, vaříš, vaří, vaříme, vaříte, vaří

3. Zeisig

Zeisig Well-Known Member

Basically yes. But nothing goes easily in the Czech language. In some cases you need change the aspect of the verb.

Examples:

Sedni si! Nesedej si! (sednout si vs. sedat si)

4. Zeisig

Zeisig Well-Known Member

AFAIK není is the only exception:

on/ona/ono je - on/ona/ono není (he is - he is not)

5. Zeisig

Zeisig Well-Known Member

All verbs with the thematic vowel -i- and all non-derived verbs with the thematic vowel -e- (-ě-) in the infinitive stem have such kind of homonymy.

prosit: on prosí - oni prosí

trpět: on trpí - oni trpí

But I do not think it will help you much.

6. dzurisova

dzurisova Well-Known Member

Well don't forget about NIC: co něco nic

7. wer

wer Well-Known Member

I think only the negation of verbs was questioned, wasn't?

8. dzurisova

dzurisova Well-Known Member