New Here

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by General Joy, Nov 27, 2007.

1. General Joy

General Joy Well-Known Member

Hi everyone, I'm new to this board. I'm in the very, very preliminary stages of learning Czech. :) I'm a writer, and need to know a bit of the language for story research. But I'm also interested in all things Czech because it's part of my heritage...my great-grandfather was from Jedomelice, Bohemia. Looking forward to chatting with everyone!

2. Sova

Sova Well-Known Member

Wow! It's nice to have a published author in the forum (just please don't critique our writing styles too harshly :) ) . Welcome!

3. GlennInFlorida

GlennInFlorida Well-Known Member

Welcome!

Take a look at the blue language bar towards the top of this page - it has basic phrases and links to other resources.

If you have any specific requests, I'm sure someone here will be glad to help.

4. scrimshaw

scrimshaw Well-Known Member

Welcome General Joy.
    Looking forward to your posts.

5. Zik

Zik Well-Known Member

Hi, welcome! :wink:
    It's maybe not easy to learn Czech, but I think it's not impossible. For example scrimshaw is from the USA, too, and he speaks Czech very well.

Enjoy your learning! :wink:

6. General Joy

General Joy Well-Known Member

Thanks for the welcome, everyone. Don't worry, Sova--I think everyone else will be critiquing ME! (and my Czech, but that's good) :D

7. GlennInFlorida

GlennInFlorida Well-Known Member

Michal (Zik),

you have a remarkable resemblance to Masaryk :shock: :wink:

8. Zik

Zik Well-Known Member

I regrettably don't, I don't look so wisely and dignity! :wink:

There is really T. G. Masaryk in the picture. I chose it, because he was an admirable person and he made much for Czechoslovakia.

9. stepan

stepan Well-Known Member