newbie here..please help with translation

Discussion in 'Vocabulary & Translation Help' started by hockeygirl_leafs07, Jan 31, 2003.

1. hockeygirl_leafs07

hockeygirl_leafs07 Active Member

this is a short interview of one of my favourite hockey players but I can't understand czech. Could someone please help?
    Here's the link

http://www.rozhlas.cz/radiozurnal/portal/_zprava/10945

I've tried using a dictionary and a on-line translator but they don't work! I'm studying German and Spanish now, and can speak French, English, Cambodian but I don't think I could handle learning a sixth language but czech sounds pretty cool. So who knows maybe I'll start learning it too. I just know Czech is gonna be really difficult to learn. BTW how similar is the czech and polish languages?

2. Anke

Anke Well-Known Member

Hi hockeygirl,

we usually don't translate longer texts at myczechrepublic.com because they are of no use for others. But in this case I make an exception because somebody else might be interested in the interview.
    I'll try to translate it although both English and Czech are not my native languages. I only write the questions, not the commentary of the administrator. So here it is:

guest 1: Karel, how do you remember this year's play off against Sparta and the first game at your home?

Karel: The first game I didn't see because I had to go to the cabin (changing room) early and I only heard the reactions of the spectators if somebody made a goal but I didn't know how it ended; and that we lost only told me the boys who were coming from the ice.

guest: But the best [scenes] you've certainly seen on video...

Karel: I already don't remember much, but it was a competition full of emotions. They gave us four goals but, of course, there were some good ones...

guest: Do you think that (this year's) title is in the right hands?
    [...]