Questions/Help! I'm disenchanted about moving to CR in 2006

Discussion in 'Expat Life' started by RoseHall, Dec 12, 2005.

1. RoseHall

RoseHall New Member

I have been looking over the message boards and have become a bit disenchanted about moving to the CR.

I am planning to teach English after a month-long course. This is not a life-long carer choice, just a chance to live abroad again. I am in the prcoess of learning Czech, but will not be natively fluent.

Can someone give me honest and realistic answers to the following?

1. Is it still a good idea to consider teaching English in CR?

2. Can I make enough to live on comfortably? (comfortable appartment, food, occasional restaurant and other entertainment, internet, public transportation etc).

3. What are the most reputable English teaching certifications? Particular schools?

4. If the CR isn't the best place to consider moving at present, any other suggestions? I would still be teaching English.

5. I am a filmmaker in the US with a notable CV, I was hoping to work on films in the CR. Does anyone know if this is feasable? I am a native English speaker, will have a decent understanding of Czech, and a good production background. I plan to teach English until I can get involved in the film industry. I know that American and UK productions film in CZ on a regular basis.

6. Do language schools prefer British speakers over American?

7. What are the odds of being able to sustain a decent salery, comfortable living , etc. in the long-term? What are the odds of moving on to a better paying job?

8. Is there any other advice you can offer to a CR novice?

9. I will be coming to the CR with my best friend. In the US she is a certified primary school teacher with training in special education. What are her job options, other than teaching English? (she is also learning Czech).

Thank you to anyone who can answer any of my questions - I realize that there are quite a few. Any help you can give would be valuable.