Supermarket ready meals

Discussion in 'Food & Drink' started by Polednikova, Feb 27, 2007.

1. Polednikova

Polednikova Well-Known Member

In the UK, I wouldn't have gone anywhere near the pre-prepared dishes that are sold on the delicatessan counters in supermarkets. They are full of additives and taste nothing like as good as their homemade versions.

Now, I appreciate that it may be because I'm not an expert on Czech food and have certainly not had homemade Czech cooking, or at least not since my Czech father died twenty five years ago, only these dishes as served in restaurants, but I'm becoming quite a fan of these supermarket meals.

While I've still got an in-built reluctance to buy them a) not only do I like cooking but b) I do have the time to cook, now that I'm not working; but I have been buying the cooked halusky and un-cooked but ready prepared gulas from Tesco in Novy Smichov.

Not only do they taste pretty good but they are pretty cheap - particularly the gulas when you take into account the pork, peppers, onions and time taken to prepare it.

Have my culinary standards dropped or do others have similar recommendations I can try?

2. steveb

steveb Member

I have no experience of the foods which you mention but I am also extremely reluctant to buy ready-prepared meals from a supermarket. I can't but notice the coincidental rise in obesity and all manner of food allergies in the west with the simultaneous increasing availability of prepackaged food - combined with the decrease in home-made food from basic ingredients. Or am I imagining things?