What to wear as a student?

Discussion in 'Culture' started by badger, Oct 29, 2007.

1. badger

badger Member

I'm going to be studying abroad next semester in Prague and was informed that dress standards are different for students versus in the states. I was wondering what the average student usually wore to class at a University and what normal dress was like on a typical day? I don't want to seem too out of place....

2. Polednikova

Polednikova Well-Known Member

It's a long time since I was a student and I don't know what students wear in America. I am therefore totally unqualified to give you a response to your specific question!

However, one of the things I like about living in Prague is that you can wear what you like, unless you're going somewhere particularly formal like the opera, where Czechs will 'dress up' and the only people in jeans are tourists. You can see groups of people sitting together in a pub, all wearing different 'levels' of dress and no-one seems to be as status conscious because of what they are wearing as they would be in London.

Having said that, I do appreciate that young people are more self-conscious than my age group - or at least they were when I was young - so perhaps you'll get a different response from any students who read your post. But as far as I can tell from the students I see on the tram, they don't look any different from those in London ie not specially smart but not specially scruffy either.

3. alenastef

alenastef Well-Known Member

Neither I know what students wear in America, but the difference can be (compared to other European countries) that if you are going to an exam, written or oral, it is strongly recommended to wear some nice outfit, it means suit or jacket with tie (supposing you are a boy). Not "nice outfit" meaning the most expensive you have in your wardrobe which could be e.g. a nice shredded threadbare modern jeans...

4. Polednikova

Polednikova Well-Known Member