Where is/was Nosadl, Bohemia?

Discussion in 'Looking for Ancestors' started by gypzy, Jan 11, 2006.

1. gypzy

gypzy Well-Known Member

Howdy!

I'm new to this research thing, so please forgive me if I say something silly :oops: . Growing up I was led to believe that there was gypsies in my family. I cant say for sure if it was a direct line or association. My great grandma's aunt was a cook in a hotel in USA who hung out with gypsies. My ggg grandparents were Frank and Elizabeth (Selinger) Kallis. They both came from Nosadl, Bohemia. Franks mother was named Elizabeth. Not sure of father, Wilhelm? Elizabeth's parents may have been named Anton and Lena? Elizabeth had a brother named Wenzel Selinger. Josep was Frank's brother.

There is a letter from Josep to Frank in August 17 1850. He had been touring as a musician through Serbia, Russia, and Turkey.

My ggg grandparents were Catholic. Are/were gypsies Catholic? If they were gypsies would they have been considered Bohemians? I have a heard that there is a mitochondrial DNA at home test I can take. This would be good since I have a direct female line to this ancestory. Where do I find these tests :roll: ?

Also if my "new" cousin I met on the interent is reading this; "Thank you much for the info", give credit where credit is due! :wink:

2. wer

wer Well-Known Member

3. Ceit

Ceit Well-Known Member

Here's a link to an article that is on ancestry.com. The author doesn't mention the mitochondrial DNA test, but there are links to companies that offer the tests. They might not be the at-home kind though...and DNA Heritage only seems to offer Y testing.

About Bohemian Gypsies, I would think that they would be listed on ship's manifests as nationally Austrian or Austro-Hungarian, and if there's a column for ethnicity they would be Gypsy, not Bohemian. At least that's how things look on the Ellis Island site. Whether they considered themselves Gypsy or Bohemian, or both, is something else of course. :wink:

4. Jana