what make czech people anxious??? HELP

Discussion in 'Culture' started by manuolda, Apr 29, 2008.

1. manuolda

manuolda Member

Ahoj everyone!I'm an in Italian student, studying in New Zealand. I have to report on the Czech Culture for my International Management course and I was wodering if someone could give me a hand. Particularly I'd like to know what may render czech people anxious (what might cause anxiety, fear, irritation, impatience, suspicion, awkwardness, defensiveness)...everithing from smoking in public spaces, spit on the ground, talking about certtain topic, not being punctual and so forth.
    This might sound to you a little bit weird...but this is what I've been asked!!! mnohokrát děkuji

2. eso

eso Well-Known Member

When you don't remove your shoes, when you go into house/apartment :)

When you say Czech republic is in Eastern Europe.

When you are too loud in public.

3. GlennInFlorida

GlennInFlorida Well-Known Member

Not picking up a basket at the front of a small store, even if you are only looking for one item.

4. Alexx

Alexx Well-Known Member

I do it almost every day when buying some snack. No problem at all.

5. jen

jen Well-Known Member

I would say, from my experience, that Czechs are afraid of making mistakes (something which is unfortunately "taught" in schools here), and are afraid of making fools of themselves in front of others (being silly, etc). Again, this is just my experience and my perspective as a late-30's person...

6. GlennInFlorida

But you probably do it where they recognize you - same with me once the people in the store have seen me a few times but the first time in, obviously looking like a foreigner, picking up the basket and giving a nice "dobry den" helps a lot.

7. dzurisova

dzurisova Well-Known Member

discussing intimate feelings or fears and public display of affection. And people who smile too much.

8. Petr_B

Petr_B Well-Known Member