searching for hurtuk, kokrda families, vysny slavkov katovic

Discussion in 'Looking for Ancestors' started by kwanyin62, Jun 15, 2008.

1. kwanyin62

kwanyin62 New Member

I am searching for any information regarding the families of Hurtuk or Kokrda, from vysny slavkov or katovice areas.

2. Karel_lerak

Karel_lerak Well-Known Member

Vyšný Slavkov is a small village in Slovakia.
    Katoviceis a small village in the south of Czechia, but Katowice is a rather big city in Poland.
    I haven't found "Hrtuk" among surnames in Czech republik, the nearest was "Hrtus" or "Hrtús" (relative frequency both together 96/5000000).
    Kokrda is also rather rare here in Czech republik (91/5000000).

3. kwanyin62

kwanyin62 New Member

I am just so amazed that my post generated such a quick response. I have been doing genealogy for many many years here in the usa...not my czech ancestors, but other side and sometimes it takes YEARS for someone to come across a post and reply to it. I thank you so much. As far as I am aware, my ggrandmother's family was from Katovice, in cz, not Katowice, in Poland. And i am certain that her husband was from vysny slavkov. Since I don't know the czech language, I only spell their last names as they were written over the years when they arrived in the usa....could they have been spelled differently? By the way, Praha is a wonderful wonderful place. I fell in love at first sight, and felt very at home. I hope I can find my relatives somewhere, based on any leads I may get on the website...thank you again

4. Sova

Sova Well-Known Member

5. Karel_lerak

Sorry for mistaking Hurtuk for Hrtuk (I should buy better glasses :)
    the frequency Hurtuk+Hurtúk is 23/5000000, Hurtuková+Hurtúková 25/5300000

6. Karel_lerak

Municipal office members and mayors since 1900
    OBECNÉ ZASTUPITEĽSTVO, but you can find much more just googling.

7. Karel_lerak

Again, some googling brings results for Kokrda, Katovice.