What's the next step?

Discussion in 'General Language' started by jidlomonster, Jul 3, 2004.

1. jidlomonster

jidlomonster Member

Hi everyone,

I don't know if this is a common problem, or if anyone has some useful advice. I have been learning Czech for 9 years or so, and feel I have a good grasp of the language and speak it OK. My problem is getting a fluent understanding of what people say to me.

I've tried to remedy this by listening to audio cassettes and recording news broadcasts from the internet. The trouble is, these are too difficult for me, and with no Czech teacher nearby it is really hard work to pick my way through them.

Does anyone know of a good source of audio material that would present me with a more manageable challenge? My guess is that material aimed at Czech children would be a good start - but I've no idea what to buy.

I'm going to Prague in August for a language course - so if you have any recommendations for things I could buy when I'm there, I'd be really grateful.

Many thanks

Mike

2. hockeygirl_leafs07

hockeygirl_leafs07 Active Member

Hi,
    Honestly, the best way I think is to live in the Czech Republic for at least a year, even after a few months if you are immersed you'll improve your understanding a whole lot. I really think that immersion is the best way to improve or be fluent in another language. You can study a language for 20 years and never be fluent unless you spend some time there totally immersed--speak, write, think, listen, etc in czech 24/7. In fact, you'll probably start dreaming in czech after awhile, if you aren't already now. I've been studying french for almost 12 years, I can converse no problem and I even dream in french but I wouldn't consider myself fluent yet so I plan on spending a year in France or Switzerland next year as part of an exchange program.