the letter 't' - does it sometimes sound like 'k'?

Discussion in 'Grammar & Pronunciation' started by DWS, Jun 5, 2007.

1. DWS

DWS Member

Thanks in advance for your help. I'm new to the czech language and have been practicing with Pimsleur audio CDs. One thing I have noticed and been unable to find an explanation for:

In some words the letter "t" seems to be pronounced with a "k" sound - as in the english word "key".

Examples: velmi mě těší
    : něco k pití

In both of these phrases the "t" seems to be pronounced like "k" by the czech speaker. Is this a trick of my english ears?

Is there a rule for when "t" should sound like "k"?

2. eso

eso Well-Known Member

I'm sorry, I definitely don't hear direct similarity between k and ť, even in your examples.

3. Qcumber

Qcumber Well-Known Member

Two possibilities:

1 [weak]) Your brain misinterprets the palatization of the /t/ - /t/ + /i/ > [tj] - as the /h/ puff that accompanies /p/, /t/, /k/ in English as in pat, tat, cat.

2 [stronger]) Your brain misperceives /t/ for /k/ as already noted in some languages, but generally in the present of an /l/, e.g. some old French speakers: Hitler > Hikler; some provincial speakers of Tagalog: itlóg > iklóg "egg".

4. Eleshar

Eleshar Well-Known Member

Well... it strongly depends on the language you speak. And... yes, it is somehow possible to confuse the two if they are mispronounced or pronounced not very carefully in some positions (due to their phonetic nature).
    But the main reason may be the coarticulation. Coarticulation is tranfering of phonemic traits to phonetic environment.