Czech Keyboard (Everyone Can Now Type In Czech!)

Discuss Czech grammar and get help with pronunciation. For a start, visit <a href=http://www.locallingo.com/czech/grammar/index.html target="_blank">locallingo.com/czech/grammar</a> and <a href=http://www.locallingo.com/czech/pronunciation/index.html target="_blank">locallingo.com/czech/pronunciation</a>.

Moderators: Sova, gementricxs, Local Lingo

McCracken
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: 26-Jul-06 14:51
Location: Kent, England

Postby McCracken » 20-Jun-08 11:58

Perhaps someone could help me with this related problem:

OK, I can type Czech characters into a Word document (or cheat and use a website to do it for me!). I don't seem to be able to type them into an online email service and if I cut and paste Czech text from Word into an email, the text becomes corrupted when sent - it is the same when I receive Czech characters in an email, the text is corrupt.

Are there any technological wizards out there who could suggest a solution?
User avatar
eso
Senior Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: 27-Jan-06 16:35
Location: Kladno/Prague

Postby eso » 20-Jun-08 13:45

McCracken wrote:Perhaps someone could help me with this related problem:

OK, I can type Czech characters into a Word document (or cheat and use a website to do it for me!). I don't seem to be able to type them into an online email service and if I cut and paste Czech text from Word into an email, the text becomes corrupted when sent - it is the same when I receive Czech characters in an email, the text is corrupt.

Are there any technological wizards out there who could suggest a solution?


For start tell us name of the email service.
Most todays web email providers should support multi language emails, but there allways could be exceptions.
When in trouble or in doubt,
run in circles scream and shout.
McCracken
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: 26-Jul-06 14:51
Location: Kent, England

Postby McCracken » 20-Jun-08 23:56

It's btinternet (btyahoo?). Does that help?
User avatar
eso
Senior Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: 27-Jan-06 16:35
Location: Kladno/Prague

Postby eso » 21-Jun-08 9:15

McCracken wrote:It's btinternet (btyahoo?). Does that help?


Maybe this solution will help you:
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index ... rRx&show=7

If not, it's possible that btinternet doesn't support Czech character set (I saw it on US webs before)

In that case I suggest Google's www.gmail.com which is free, with 7GB of free space per account and I'm sure it supports Czech alphabet (and everyone's else too)
When in trouble or in doubt,

run in circles scream and shout.
McCracken
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: 26-Jul-06 14:51
Location: Kent, England

Postby McCracken » 21-Jun-08 14:22

It doesn't look like the btyahoo browser has the ability to change the character encoding but thanks for the help anyway.
User avatar
Sova
Moderator
Posts: 1500
Joined: 05-Jan-04 7:01
Location: NY, USA

Postby Sova » 23-Jun-08 16:04

fabik317 wrote:
Sova wrote:Sure, but how long did it take you on your Mac to learn how to type in Czech?


oh please, let's not start that OS/platform/architecture war again, there's too many of them all around the internet:)

It was a joke, fabik317, purely tongue-in-cheek. Don't read anything into it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests