Where to Visit in Brno?

Discussion in 'Travel Tips & Advice' started by chewjoel, Feb 3, 2006.

1. chewjoel

chewjoel Member

Hi,

I'm new in Brno and just wondering anybody have any idea which place is among the MUST-VISIT-list?
    Thanks.

Joelle

2. brook

brook Well-Known Member

Some of the more typical touristy things which I enjoyed while living there:

Spilberk castle (of course!) - spend a few crowns (50kc maybe? I forget...) and tour the kasematy. The castle was used as a prison at one time. They offer a tour in English, or you can explore them on your own. I did both and the guy who gave the tour in English was very kind and informative.

Kapucin monastery - Ooo...mummified bodies. Fascinating, but humbling...

Austerlitz / Slavkov - battlesite just a few minutes outside of Brno, but you must have a car or take the bus to get there.

Katedrala sv. Petra a Pavla (Petrov) - if imprisonment and death aren't your thing, check out this beautiful cathedral (you can't miss it :p )

When you're done, walk down to Ceska street and have beer and a czech meal at Stopkova or Pegasus just around the corner on Jakubska.

For other interesting places go to the Brno city website (they offer an english language version): http://www.brno.cz/ Under "Information on the city" you will find links to maps, points of interests, restaurants, etc.

Have fun!

3. brook

brook Well-Known Member

4. MorpheusWan

MorpheusWan Member

Punkevni cave is a must-visit place. It's magnificent and won't disappoint you!

5. fabik317

fabik317 Well-Known Member