czech meals and therapeutic uses of food

Discussion in 'Food & Drink' started by lskiba3, Nov 21, 2008.

1. lskiba3

lskiba3 New Member

Hi. I am a nutrition student from Ohio working on a project over the Czech Republic. Can anyone tell me typically how many meals per day are eaten as well as what the consist of? I also need to know if there are any foods used as therapeutic cures to illness. And if anyone has mannerisms that can throw in I appreciate it!! Thanks!

2. Karel_lerak

Karel_lerak Well-Known Member

It may differ quite a long and changes with time.
    In my opinion there are still typically three meals per day:

breakfast - usually bread and butter, may be salami, cheese; or pastry; tea, coffee, milk

lunch - soup and some (usually meat) second dish

supper - if warm then similar to lunch but without soup, if cold then similar to
    breakfast, but a bit larger

This is not backed by any statistics, just my opinion 8)

3. pedro1974

pedro1974 Well-Known Member

dunno know why, when I was sick I got gulash and a beer and I felt better!

in my opinion, about how many meals per day, czeck have many meals after the main one that is the lunch.
    in the streets, at any time, it's very easy to find people eating in fast food, hot dog, chinese food, the dinner usually is lighter and smaller than the lunch.

4. lskiba3

lskiba3 New Member

thank you very much! In some of my research I saw that Beckerovka maybe be used to help settle the stomach. Can anyone confirm if this is true? Are there any herbal remedies anyone is aware of?

Also, as a part of my project, I must include some type of counseling methods to people of the czech republic, specifically what verbal and non-verbal signs to look for. Are Czechs typically shy and reserve when speaking with a stranger? Do they prefer eye contact? Anything known would be greatley appreciated!

Mary Kathryn Moravek likes this.
  5. Irena M

Irena M Well-Known Member