Black American in Czech Republic

Discussion in 'Culture' started by Leonie Carolan, Jul 28, 2020.

1. Leonie Carolan

Leonie Carolan New Member

Hi all!

I'm planning on moving to the Czech Republic next year with my fiance and I'm from the United States. I've just graduated from college and the main reason I'm thinking of moving is because of him, he's from the Czech Republic. We are trying to decide on whether we want to live in Prague or Brno but I have a few concerns/questions:

1. Racism: we are an interracial couple. I'm mixed race (black/white) with fairly lighter skin and he's white. I've rarely experienced racism but it's still something that's always on my mind. I've been to Prague once before and had the best time and absolutely no problems. However I know it's different living someplace than when you are a tourist. My fiance says we should have no problems but I wanted to get others perspective.

2. Communication: I am still learning Czech and am still not the best at it. I know the basics like greetings and stuff like that but do you think I'll have a problem trying to communicate?

3. I'm an EU citizen (Ireland) and will that help me at all when moving to the Czech Republic?

4. Is Brno or Prague a better place to live in terms of tolerance, starting a family, traveling to other countries, etc.

P.S. I know that the Czech Republic isn't a very diverse place and I'm aware that I will stand out/I'm not accusing anyone of being racist, you can't define an entire country.

2. Dana

Dana Well-Known Member

Hi Leonie,

I'm not going to be able to answer all your questions as I don't have any first-hand information (such as friends of different races living in the Czech Republic) and I am not familiar at all with the situation in Brno.