Specific differences in words meaning Czech

Discussion in 'Vocabulary & Translation Help' started by akriesman, Jun 29, 2004.

1. akriesman

akriesman New Member

Hello people,

I have been learning Czech for about 4 years. I have a very basic question that has always bothered me.

Can someone tell me the exact differences between the following words ?

čeština
    čech
    český

To my knowledge, čech is more specifically a Bohemian, as opposed to someone living in the Czech Republic.

I have seen references to the fact that čeština stands for the Czech language. Is this true ?

Is český both an adjective and noun, where the noun represents anyone living in the Czech Republic or of Czech descent (Bohemian or Moravian) ?

If someone could explain this to me, I would be very grateful. It is something that has puzzled me for some time, and is not explained very well in any of my reference manuals.

Thanks !
    Allen

2. Sokrates

Sokrates New Member

Hello Allen,

čeština = Czech language

čech
    =can be a Bohemian in the meaning as you wrote, and also
    =Czech in the meaning as a citizen of the Czech Republic, i.e.
    Bohemians and Moravians and other nationality together

český=czech - it is only an adjective

Bye,
    Anna

3. akriesman

akriesman New Member

Thank you Anna !

Allen

4. Bohaemus

Bohaemus Well-Known Member

Čech (upper case Č!) means neither an inhabitant of Bohemia nor a citizen of the C.R.

Čech (fem. Češka) is strictly a member of the Czech nation. The Czech nation lives in Bohemia (Čechy), Moravia (Morava) and some part of Silesia (Slezsko).

5. Dana

Dana Well-Known Member