Wedding

Discussion in 'Movies, Music & Media' started by kerri, Apr 7, 2006.

1. kerri

kerri New Member

This is my first time on the site and I need some help. In 2 months I will be getting married to a man who was born in the Czech Republic. We both now live in Canada. The only family he has in the country are his parents and brother who live 3500 km away. They will be flying in for the wedding and I would like to surprise his parents by having some Czech traditions incorporated in the ceremony. Can anyone suggest something? Also, in searching, I found the name of a traditional Czech wedding song called "Pisen Slavebni". I just can't find the actual song anywhere to download or buy it. I would really appreciate if someone could help me out with that. Thanks everyone.

2. brook

brook Well-Known Member

it kind of depends - what region is his family from? Meaning, are they from Moravia or Bohemia, southern Bohemia, etc?

When I was teaching in Brno, one of my students shared photos of his wedding. He couldn't understand my fascination, but the little things they did were very interesting. For example, they each fed each other from a bowl of soup. But I think many people in the CR as well as other countries do this. At the end of the ceremony the wedding party placed the bride in a wheelbarrow (a nice clean one :) ) and the groom rolled her down the street. It was of course all in fun and I think perhaps unique only to them - I'm not sure.

But anway - my point! :) I would recommend looking into traditions common to the region where they're from.

Hope that helps a little!

3. Brook,