What is your mother tongue?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by nebe_je_zde, Apr 6, 2006.

1. nebe_je_zde

nebe_je_zde Member

As I'm a newbie here, I was surprised that most users are from USA....you know America is said to be ignorant to foreign languages especially to such like Czech:wink: So I have a question: what is your native language? (I wanted to make a poll, but there's no such option :? ) There are many americans whose second language is English actually....

Let's start - mine is Русский!!! :D

2. ursula

ursula Well-Known Member

german.
    ursula

3. Deejayne Amy

Deejayne Amy New Member

Mine is also German. :wink:

4. mike_jtw

mike_jtw Well-Known Member

the real English as spoken by a true Celtic

Descended from Welsh

Mike

5. atyka

atyka Well-Known Member

Mine is Czech :)

6. Viktor

Viktor Well-Known Member

I was born in Czechoslovakia (mother tongue) and English is my fifth language -- been livng in the US for the last 47 years...

Viktor

7. Jana

Jana Well-Known Member

I am Moravian, and proud of it. :)

8. Halef

Halef Well-Known Member

Second :)

9. atyka

atyka Well-Known Member

@Viktor: your mother tongue is Czechoslovak?

10. GlennInFlorida

GlennInFlorida Well-Known Member

Southern American - with influences from all over (only about 27% of adult Floridians are Florida born - I'm one of them). My "English" is probably not at all like Mike's. I also have a lot of Spanish - the neighborhood I have lived in since 1955 is predominantly Hispanic.

11. Viktor

Viktor Well-Known Member

Aryka:

My mother language(s) are Czech & Slovak..

Viktor

12. stepan

stepan Well-Known Member

My mother tongue is Czech. That is all I spoke until I was 5. When we came to the US, I started school here and English became my primary language outside the home and Czech was spoken at home.