Declension Markers

Discussion in 'General Language' started by DMMW1984, Jan 14, 2008.

1. DMMW1984

DMMW1984 New Member

Hi,

I'm new to the Czech Language, but I will be living in Prague for six months to teach English and therefore I want the best Czech I can have when I go over there and I have a little over a month to learn what I can. Now I read a very helpful post to someone else that recommended "Before you know it" website and their free download, which really is excellent. I found myself excited, I now know the months, the colours etc, but then I remembered, I simply know one version (presumably the nominative) of these, as Czech is an inflected language. I don't expect to be able to deal with the full declensions instantly or to even learn them straight away but what I would like is to know which declensions the words that I am learning fit in, so far all the online dictionairies, I have looked at just give me the nominative but no other version, does anyone know where I can find one that will give me the indication of what case and gender the noun belongs I realise the end of the word can sometimes, but not always give a strong clue to this, but is there something more substantial for a beginner who cannot do this automatically. Additionally how will I be able to recognise it when it is given, for instance in Latin, the nouns declension is given by the nominative-genitive endings, ie puella-puellae, from that you can instantly know that is first declension and feminine. Is there a similar system for Czech?

Thanks.

2. Alexx

Alexx Well-Known Member

I do not know latin, but I would say it is even more complicated in Czech.

3. Polednikova

Polednikova Well-Known Member

There are some duplications but you can usually tell. And it's important to get to the stage when you can at least recognise them otherwise you'll struggle when you're tying to look up words because they are in the dictionary in their nominative form.